Star Struck by Jenny McLachlan

Star Struck by Jenny McLachlanStar Struck by Jenny McLachlan
Series: Ladybirds #4
Also in this series: Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb, Sunkissed

Published by Bloomsbury on March 10th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Click here to buy the book from AmazonBooktopiaBook DepositoryAngus and Robertson
Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines - Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl - Jenny McLachlan's latest book tells Pearl's story. Pearl is the 'bad girl' of the group - she drinks, she smokes, she swears - and she's mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there's one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend. There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce!

Pearl isn’t above some dirty tactics to get what she wants. And what she wants is to be Juliet in the school’s modern production of Shakespeare’s classic play. When the part is given to new girl Hoshi, Pearl resorts to some interesting schemes to get her new nemesis to quit.

Since starting the Ladybird series, Pearl’s story is the one I was anticipating most. She’s a bit of a self-proclaimed bad girl yet throughout the series she has shown to be quite complex. In Star Struck, Pearl really shines.

When Hoshi arrives and becomes Juliet, Pearl is livid. She wanted to be the one wowing the audience and sharing stage kisses the class heartthrob. As Pearl launches her plan to take down Hoshi from behind the facade of being the transfer student’s BFF, she finds that Hoshi is tougher than she seems.

I loved how these two characters contrasted each other. Pearl hides behind her tough girl exterior. The smoking, swearing and bullying are part of Pearl’s armour to protect herself. Her family relationship is difficult (that’s a bit of an understatement) and there are times when Pearl feels her only friend is an exotic fish. Hoshi on the other hand is outgoing and quirky and open to new friends. Pearl’s idea of being frienemies with Hoshi falls apart as the two girls find common ground in their love of performing and being outsiders.

There is a romantic storyline in this book and I loved how the relationship grew over the course of the novel. The course of true love never did run smooth and that definitely applies to Pearl. I was really rooting for Pearl and adored how she accepted that she deserved love by the end. I also enjoyed the friendships between all of the girls in Star Struck. The events of the previous books haven’t been forgotten but rather Pearl’s story brings them all together.

Star Struck is a great conclusion to the Ladybirds series. Much like the previous books, Star Struck is a brilliant combination of fun, romance and some more serious issues.

Star Struck in ten words or less: Brilliant story about self-acceptance and friendship. 

2 Comments

    • It’s a cute younger YA read. I would probably say the intended audience is around 12-15. What I like most about it is that it is clean (no swearing, sexual content) and whilst it’s not too heavy regarding complex issues it’s not overly fluffy and all sparkles and rainbows either. There is some sort of depth to the stories and characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge