(Flowers from the Heart): The Flower Arrangement by Elle Griffin

(Flowers from the Heart): The Flower Arrangement by Elle GriffinThe Flower Arrangement by Ella Griffin

Published by Hachette on June 18th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, General, Love & Romance
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Click here to buy the book from AmazonBooktopiaBook DepositoryAngus and Robertson
From her florist shop window, Lara, owner of Blossom & Grow, watches those who've bought her flowers head off to face all manner of life-changing occasions. Bridal posies, anniversary bouquets, surprise deliveries from secret admirers, new baby bunches - Lara arranges them all. And then there's the sadder occasions - the memorial wreaths, the 'I'm sorry...' flowers. Since her husband left her, Lara finds it hard to believe that flowers really mean true love and it's hard to imagine she will ever be brave enough to love again. Katy is facing up to the fact that her relationship with Ben will never blossom the way she hopes. And when a courier leaves a bunch of flowers on her work desk, she begins to think life might have different path in store... Ciara works in Blossom and Grove and it's been a year since a psychic told her she would 'move into the light'. Now, finally over the man who broke her heart, she's fascinated by the man who visits the shop every week to buy a beautiful bouquet. As much as she's attracted to him, she holds back. Surely he's in a relationship? Unless he has other reasons for visiting Blossom & Grow to buy those flowers... Weaving together a delightful cast of characters, Ella Griffin's gorgeous new novel brings her warmth, wit and wisdom to a little Irish florist.

Every since she was a little girl, Lara has believed in the healing power of flowers. Now as an adult Lara has her own florist shop and has the uncanny knack of knowing just which floral arrangement each of her customers needs even when they don’t know it themselves.

The Flower Arrangement is a delightful story about love, life and of course, flowers. At the beginning of the novel Lara is broken and dispirited but with help from her family, friends and the flowers she sells she rebuilds her life and emerges the other side stronger than before. Her brother Phil is always there for her and experiences for himself how a chance floral encounter can change everything.

From first dates to break ups, celebratory birth bouquets to funeral garlands – The Flower Arrangement shows how flowers are evident at the most important events in our lives. The customers of Blossom and Grow, Lara’s store, each share a small snippet of their lives through their purchasing of the pretty blooms. It was lovely to see how their stories intertwined in a way which helped us understand Lara’s belief in the importance of flowers.

This story is sometimes heartbreaking, at times moving and poignant but it is also a warm and beautiful story about one woman healing herself and her community. I loved following Lara as she goes from the depressed woman nursing a damaged soul to the vibrant woman who is the heart of Blossom and Grow. The pain she felt over her past was palpable but with the help of Phil and her friends she rebuilds her life and finds happiness. The characters in The Flower Arrangement are realistic and relatable each with their own problems in their lives. I adored Phil’s storyline and love how it emerged as well as all the secondary characters we got to meet along the way. There’s romance and anguish along with a healthy dose of realism – this novel was a pleasure to read.

The Flower Arrangement is a moving story about the many things flowers can say without uttering a word. I recommend this book for fans of Josephine Moon and Marian Keyes.

 

Thanks to Hachette and The Reading Room for the review copy. 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge