(A Story Like No Other): A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

(A Story Like No Other): A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Published by Bloomsbury on May 5th 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, General, Love & Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

Click here to buy the book from AmazonBooktopiaBook DepositoryAngus and Robertson
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Feyre has been looking after her family for years doing whatever it takes to make sure they survive. When she unknowingly breaks a treaty between humans and faerie, she is taken from her home by a fierce and dangerous monstrous creature. Trapped in his castle with only his odd servants and friends for company, Feyre comes to realize there is more to her faerie captor than first meets the eye. As she learns more about him and his people, Fayre discovers who the true monsters are…

A Court of Thorns and Roses is unlike any Beauty and the Beast retelling you’ve ever read before. This story is clever and interesting with a lot of depth. Sarah J Maas is a first-class storyteller. Somehow in only 432 pages, Ms Maas manages to deliver a rich and vivid story full of fascinating characters and a complete fictional world. It is an incredible feat as no part of this novel felt rushed – the pacing was perfect for the story.

Fayre was such fun to follow throughout A Court of Thorns and Roses. She’s tough and self-sacrificing yet not in a victim sort of way. Wanting to uphold a promise to her late mother whilst also holding in feelings of resentment – she’s realistic despite the fantastical setting of this book. If you are looking for a great story with a kick-arse heroine, look no further than A Court of Thorns and Roses. As she goes from being a provider to a prisoner, she maintains her spirit and sense of self-preservation. Tamlin, the beastly King, is equally interesting. The relationship between the two is interesting to watch as it unfolds and I liked how it evolved over the course of the novel. I adored Tamlin’s friend Lucien and hope this series features more of him in the future.

The characters in this book are complex and intriguing people with rich backstories. The people who inhabit the castle all have their own lives going and and at no point do they feel their only purpose is for Feyre. There were times when these characters – both secondary and primary – felt so vivid and real to me, I would not have been surprised had they popped out of the book and into real life.

The plot is interesting. There’s political drama between the kingdoms as well as the issues between humans and faeries. There is magic in this story complete with evil queens and otherworldly rituals. All of this combines to deliver a very entertaining story.

Fans of Throne of Glass are sure to find much to love about Maas’ new fantasy series. A Court of Thorns and Roses features similarly well rounded and constructed characters along with a fantastic fantasy world. The plot is exciting and with twists and turns.

Perfect for teens and adults alike – A Court of Thrones and Roses is a great start to a new series and one of my favourite reads from the year so far.

 

Thanks to Bloomsbury Australia for the review copy. 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge