(Fun with a Serious Side): Love Bomb by Jenny McLachlan

(Fun with a Serious Side): Love Bomb by Jenny McLachlanLove Bomb by Jenny McLachlan
Series: Ladybirds #2
Also in this series: Flirty Dancing, Sunkissed, Star Struck

Published by Bloomsbury on March 12th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Love & Romance, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

Click here to buy the book from AmazonBooktopia
Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison. Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb has exploded - a love bomb! More than ever Betty wishes her mum hadn't died when Betty was a baby. She really needs her mum here to ask her advice. And that's when she finds hidden letters for just these moments. Letters about what your first kiss should feel like and what real love is all about . Is Betty ready to fall in love? Will she finally have her first kiss?

When Betty Plum turns 15, everything changes. Her father has a new girlfriend, her best friend isn’t speaking to her and Betty finds herself falling in love with the mysterious new boy at school. Her mother passed away when Betty was small but through a series of letters written before she died, Betty manages to navigate boy issues, parental love lives and growing up with her mum’s help.

The Ladybird series by Jenny McLachlan is one I am really enjoying. Aimed at a middle grade/younger teen audience, this series covers a range of topics whilst at the same time delivering an entertaining story with quirky characters. Betty Plum is adorable in many ways as she tries to navigate growing up and some of the issues she faces are common to many readers. There is a sense of confusion as she faces her first crush and drama as she finds herself on the outside of her group of friends. Looking back on my own teen years, I found much in Betty’s story to relate to.

Love Bomb is a great clean romance with twists and turns. Betty’s antics as she tries to get Toby’s attention are amusing and her relationships with best friends Bill and Kat add an interesting dynamic. This is a fun book with a serious side too. Dealing with her dad dating and relationships changing over time have Betty thrown a little but it was lovely to see her get to bond with the mother she will never meet again.

With characters who are both fun as well has having a serious side, this book is more than it first appears. Perfect for readers aged 12 and above, Love Bomb is a delightful mix of teenage drama, first loves and growing up.

Love Bomb works perfectly as a standalone or as a continuation of the Ladybugs series. 

 

Thanks to Bloomsbury Australia for the review copy

Also by Jenny McLachlan:

Flirty Dancing (Ladybirds #1)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge